Lindsay Holman
Ph.D. Candidate, Ancient History, UNC


Gabriel Moss
Associate Director
Ph.D. Candidate, Ancient History, UNC



Ryan Horne, Ph.D.
Software and Web Developer
Antiquity À-la-carte Designer and Programer
Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Pittsburgh


Peter Raleigh
Graduate Research Assistant
Ph.D. Candidate, Medieval History, UNC


Laura Roberson
Senior Cartographic Research Assistant


Lauren Taylor
Senior Cartographic Research Assistant



Alexander Griffin
Assistant Director: Cultural Heritage Protection Project



Lacey Hunter

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern

Ad Lane

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern

Kurt Nelson

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern

Kimberly Oliver

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern

Michael Purello

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern

Kelly Williams

Cultural Heritage Protection Intern



Advisory Board

Mary T. BoatwrightPh.D.
Professor of Ancient History in Classical Studies
Department of Classical Studies, Duke University / American Philological Association Representative



Carole Crumley, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


William Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor of Classical Studies
Duke University
American Philological Association Representative


Gary Marchionini, Ph.D.
Cary. C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor
School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill



Richard J. A. Talbert, Ph.D.
William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor
Department of History, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill



Former Directors of the Ancient World Mapping Center

  • Gabriel Moss (2015-2017)
  • Ryan Horne  ( 2014 – 2015)
  • Ross Twele ( 2013 – 2014)
  • Jeffrey A. Becker, Ph.D. RPA (AWMC Acting Director, 2006-2007; 2011-2013)
  • Brian D. Turner, Ph.D. (Acting Director, 2009-2011)
  • Elizabeth C. Robinson (Acting Director, 2007-2009)
  • Thomas Elliott, Ph.D. (Founding Director, 2000-2006; Pleiades Project Director 2006-present)

Veterans of the Ancient World Mapping Center

  • Cary Barber (Cartographic Research Assistant, Spring 2008)
  • Rachel Barckhaus (Graduate Apprentice Teacher, AY 2002)
  • Jeffrey A. Becker   (Acting director, 2011-2013)
  • Ray Belanger (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2010-2015)
  • Steve Burges (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2009-2013)
  • Sabrina Cheung (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2015-2016)
  • Ashley Cloud (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2014-2016)
  • Alexandra Dunk (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2003)
  • Nicole Feldl (GIS Technician, 2000-2002)
  • Tom Goldstein (Graduate Apprentice Teacher, AY 2003)
  • Amy Hannon (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2001)
  • Nora Harris (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2001-2003; Post-graduate Research Fellow, Peutinger map project, Summer 2004)
  • Will Harris (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2011-2012)
  • Daniel Hawke (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2015-2016; Senior Cartographic Research Assistant, 2016-2017)
  • Michael Heubel (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2013-2015)
  • Ryan Horne (Graduate Research Assistant, 2010-2015; Acting Director 2014- 2015)
  • McKenzie Hitchcock (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2015-2016)
  • Gannon Hubbard (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2006-2007)
  • Drew Hughes (Graduate Research Assistant, Spring 2004)
  • Andrew Hull (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2003)
  • Jabari Jerkins (Cartographic Research Assistant, AY 2000)
  • Audrey Jo (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2013 – 2014)
  • Shannon Johnson (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2002)
  • William Knauth (Graduate Research Assistant, 2014-2016)
  • Ashley Lee (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2010-2013)
  • Allie Locking (Graduate Research Assistant, 2015-2016)
  • Stephen McGregor, Ph.D. (Advisory Board, 2000-2003)
  • Joshua-Anthony Moffitt (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2007)
  • Jason Morris (Graduate Research Assistant, BATS Project, 2001- 2004)
  • David O’Brien (Graduate Research Fellow, Peutinger map project, AY 2004)
  • Benjamin Pearson (Graduate Research Assistant, Spring 2002)
  • Alexandra Retzleff, Ph.D. (Graduate Research Assistant, AY 2000)
  • Graham Shepherd (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2004-2007)
  • Matt Simon (Cartographic Research Assistant, Fall 2002)
  • Daniëlle Slootjes, Ph.D. (Graduate Research Assistant, Spring 2004)
  • Chris Smith (Project Assistant, Classroom maps project, AY 2004)
  • Ross Twele (Graduate Research Assistant, 2007-2008; Acting Director 2013-2014)
  • Joyce Uy, (AY 2000)
  • Bill Wheaton (Postgraduate Research Fellow, AY 2002)
  • Sarah Willis (Cartographic Research Assistant, 2007 – 2009)
  • Emily Wynes (Graduate Research Assistant, Fall 2001)
  • Larissa Zhurakovskaya (Bibliographic Research Assistant, AYs 2003 and 2004)